Bioenergy and biorefinery

As we face the limits of petroleum extraction and transformation, the promise of renewable, green bioenergy and bioproducts has much to offer in combatting climate change.

  • Algal biotechnology
  • Biofuels and bioenergy
  • Biorefinery
  • Sustainable materials and chemicals
Submit an abstract

Track chair

Jack Saddler
Dean Emeritus, Faculty of Forestry
Professor of Forest Products
University of British Columbia

Jack Saddler biography

Dr. Saddler is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada. He has received numerous awards such as the European Bioenergy Organization 2016 Linneborn Award, the International Union of Forest Research Organizations Scientific Achievement Award, the Charles D. Scott Award for contributions to the field of Biotechnology for fuels and Chemicals, the British Columbia Life Sciences Leadership Award, and the Canadian Renewable Energy Association's Green Fuels Industry Award.

His publications, which include more than 400 peer-reviewed papers, several books and patents, are highly cited: H-index of 80, 22766 citations. He is a regular reviewer/advisor for agencies such as the US Department of Energy, the US Department of Agriculture, the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council, and the World Bank.

He has trained/supervised more than 99 graduate students, Post Docs and Research Associates, many of whom are currently employed in senior positions in industry, government and academia. He currently leads a research group of about 20 Research Associates, Post Docs and graduate students.

Professor Saddler has advised policy-makers at the highest level in Canada, including the Science Directorate of the Canadian Forest Service, the Canadian Council of Forests Ministers, and the National Roundtable on Economy and Environment. Internationally, he has advised the VTT, Vinnova, and the Finnish Luke Stakeholder Advisory Board for the Boreal Green Bioeconomy; the UN's Food and Agricultural Organization; the US DoE, USDA and the International Energy Agency (IEA). He is a member of the Markus Wallenberg Prize selection committee, the “Nobel Prize” of the forest sector.

Date modified: